LibGuides: English Language and Literature: Home

Online Journals

Online Videos

To view the full video, click here

Welcome to the English Language and Literature Guide!

This guide is your starting point for research in English Language and Literature. You will learn about the available resources at AUK Library and on the web. For additional assistance, remember to ask a librarian!

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
This is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,500 peer-reviewed journals.

If you are searching for scholarly articles on Language and Literature, the following databases can be your best starting point.

Very Short Introductions by Oxford University Press
Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
An electronic encyclopedia with a thesaurus and a dictionary, and over 120,000 articles, a world atlas, multimedia videos and a comprehensive index.
JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal Storage), begun in 1995, is an online system for archiving academic journals. It provides full-text searches of digitized (scanned) back issues of several hundred well known journals, some going as far back as over 100 years.
Literature Online
Provides searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language-poetry, drama, and prose; 175 full-text literary journals; the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; and reference sources including American Poetry and other bibliographies, biographies, and dictionaries.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography
Comprehensive index to scholarly materials in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, including articles, books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies, 1963 - present.