AUK Repository -FAQ: Home

What is an Institutional Repository?

An Institutional Repository is an online archive database where the institution hosts the intellectual output of its faculty/staff members, in addition to students’ projects and special digital collections. It may contain a wide range of materials that reflect the intellectual wealth of an institution such as journal articles, conference papers, book chapters etc.

What are the benefits of an Institutional Repository?

• Opens up the intellectual output of the university to the world.
• Maximizes the visibility and impact of this output as a result.
• Showcases the university’s publications and research achievements to interested constituencies.
• Provides a service to the AUK community to search, access, and benefit from research by faculty and staff members.
• Improves citation impact for faculty publications.
• Provides easy access to prominent students’ projects.
• Promotes collaborative research across the institution.

Who can deposit?

AUK faculty, staff, and students (through course professors). Please refer to the depositing guidelines.

What content to deposit?

Journal articles

Conference papers

Book reviews

Book chapters

Books (only citation information)

What versions of the journal articles to submit?

Generally authors are requested to submit post-print/author’s final version. This is the version of the paper accepted by the journal for publication, and which includes all modifications and edits from the publisher’s peer review process. Most of the publishers – about %80 – allow authors to deposit a copy of their final manuscript in their institutional repository. Permissions for many publishers can be found at SHERPA RoMEO.

What if there is more than one author for the work?

Multi-authored works can be deposited if one of the authors is a member of the AUK community. The depositor should obtain permission from the other authors.

How can I search for content on this site?

The top right of the homepage contains a search box that allows you enter terms to find content posted to the repository. You can search the whole content of the repository, or search within a specific collection. An advanced filters option is there to refine the search results. You can also browse by subject, author, content type, date...etc.

Can I restrict access to content deposited in the AUK Repository?

Yes you can restrict access to the AUK community. However, the repository promotes open access and sharing of deposited content for scholarly use.

Who can access materials deposited in the repository?

Any user can access the metadata without restrictions. Access to full-text may be restricted to the AUK community depending on the items and rights obtained.

Do I need to login to access materials?

You will need to login when prompted, or when you try to access restricted content. AUK username and password is required to login.