LibGuides: Anthropology: Web resources

Helpful AUK online databases

Web Resources

Try the below online resources for a wide variety of anthropological news, stories, content, and archives to help you broaden your scope into the wealth of records available today as well as the latest discoveries, theories, and developments around the world

Anthropological Index Online
Published by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) and the British Museum, the AIO is an index for journals and publications, including its own research, and archival films
American Anthropological Association
This is the world's largest scholarly and professional organization of anthropologists, dedicated to advancing human understanding and applying this to the world’s most pressing problems
The Center for Social Anthropology and Computing
This website belongs to CSAC, whose aim is to advance 'ordinary' anthropology by exploring, developing, and applying technological solutions and tools to anthropological research problems
Anthropology Collection: California Academy of Sciences
Ancient jars and daggers, historic dolls and helmets: this searchable online database features the California Academy of Science's searchable collection of nearly 17,000 objects to examine
The Library of Congress Research Centers: The American Folklife Center
With the AFC archives, you can become more familiar with the many expressions of human experience to inspire, revitalize, and perpetuate their memories and legacies
Smithsonian Dept. of Anthropology
Explore the vast object collections and archives belonging to the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History for an inquiry into the world's people from deep prehistory to the present
The Guardian: Anthropology
Like to keep updated on the latest discussions in anthropology? Get the latest news and discoveries, insights and opinions on related subjects from the UK newspaper The Guardian
History of Anthropology Review
This open-access newsletter offers publications focused on histories of and conversations about the discipline of anthropology. The page includes back-issue content as well as new essays
Anthropoetics
This journal focuses on generative anthropology in an attempt to understand different cultural phenomena by tracing everything back to the first sign-using humans
Archaeology Magazine
Published by the Archaeological Institute of America, this magazine brings readers close to the human past with stories from every corner of the world
Institute Journal of Archaeology and Social Sciences in the Arabian Peninsula
Originally titled Chroniques yéménites, this journal has become a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal, covering research on all the countries of the Arabian Peninsula

Featured online resource

Credo Reference

Try out Credo Reference for your next research project or homework assignment. With this easy-to-use tool, you can search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos. You might like to use Credo Reference at the beginning of your writing prep, as you develop your preliminary thesis and assemble a list of background sources and key words. You can try the Advanced Search option to filter to your subject of choice, try the Mind Map tool to help you brainstorm a topic of choice, or check out 'Related Resources' to view other items our library has that might be useful for your research.

For off-campus access, remember to log in with your valid AUK username and password to view the collections

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.

Try these online academic search engines!

These online aggregators can help you get (mostly) free or open-access scholarly items for any academic subject, try them out for another search platform:

GoogleScholar is a way to search for scholarly literature in a broad, simple way, offering you access to items like articles, theses, books, or abstracts: this can be a useful place to get started in your research and see what's out there

Named after the Library of Alexandria, OpenAlex is another good place to start: named after the Library of Alexandria, this is a bibliographic catalogue of scientific papers, authors and institutions accessible in open access mode

Anthropology: Web resources

Search for books online @AUK Library

Helpful AUK online databases

Web Resources

Featured online resource

Try these online academic search engines!

News by the American Anthropological Association