Costumes often play a great role in theatrical productions and can sometimes help actors embody their role and character more easily. For inspiration, you might like to visit the Metropolitan Museum's Costume Institute page, showcasing their collection of 33,000+ objects covering 7 centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present. You can browse and admire every single object from the collection, searchable by place or time period or material, on the museum website.
POV: you've decided to audition for the upcoming play - but what to perform at the try-outs? If you aren't given an improvisational prompt, you can help your chances by choosing a piece you feel invested in and which can put your best skills on display! Below are some audition compilation books for men's and women's speaking parts you might like to explore:
Fifty more professional scenes and monologs for student actors : a collection of short one- and two-person scenes by 
Audition speeches for women by 
One on one: the best men's monologues for the 21st century by 
One on one: the best women's monologues for the 21st century by 
More alternative Shakespeare auditions for women by 
Essential acting: a practical handbook for actors, teachers and directors by 
Games for actors and non-actors by 
Impro: improvisation and the theatre by 
The Intercultural performance handbook by 
An actor's handbook: an alphabetical arrangement of concise statements on aspects of acting by 
Acting Shakespeare is outrageous!: playing the bard for beginners by 
Acting with Grotowski: theatre as a field for experiencing life by 
The Cambridge introduction to theatre directing by 
Gorilla theater: a practical guide to performing the new outdoor theatre anytime, anywher by 
The lighting supervisor's toolkit: collaboration, interrogation, and innovation toward engineering brilliant lighting designs by 
Play directing: analysis, communication, and style by 
Sound and music for the theatre: the art and technique of design by 
Costumes for the stage: a complete handbook for every kind of play by 
A practical guide to stage lighting by 
