It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Collections: Image Resources
A Guide that helps you find images and photographs from authoritative online resources
Welcome to the Images Guide
This guide is intended to help you find images on the web that could prove useful to you in your study and research. Images, like text, may be copyrighted, so always ask permission from the source before you use an image.In addition, be sure you properly cite the image source in any paper or classroom presentation.
Images by the Smithsonian
The Smithsonian Institution releases 2.8 million images into the public domain for users to use, reuse and download free of charge. For more information and to access, go to https://www.si.edu
This online catalog provides access to nearly 4,000 early photographs from the collections of the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the Print Room of the University of Leiden, and 25 other museums, libraries, and archives in the Netherlands. Search or browse by photographer, title words, or photographic process.
From the Library of Congress American Memory project, this collection includes more than 700 photographs taken between 1839 and 1864, including portraits and architectural photographs. The collection can be searched by keyword or browsed by subject.
The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco includes the collection of the de Young in Golden Gate Park and the Legion of Honor in Lincoln. The website provides an ImageBase which is fully searchable by keyword; it contains 82,000 images from the collections of the two museums.
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.