Welcome to the Images Guide
This guide is intended to help you find images on the web that could prove useful to you in your study and research. Images, like text, may be copyrighted, so always ask permission from the source before you use an image. In addition, be sure you properly cite the image source in any paper or classroom presentation.
Comments (0)
From The Art Newspaper
Images on the Web
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery: Photography CollectionThe photography collection includes many examples of early photographs, including 19th-century photographs from around the world (Japan, India, Egypt, Syria, Russia). Guides are available for some
- Early Photography: 1839-1860This online catalog provides access to nearly 4,000 early photographs from the collections of the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the Print Room of the University of Leiden, and 25 other museums, libraries, and archives in the Netherlands. Search or browse by photographer, title words, or photographic process.
- America’s First Look Into the Camera: Daguerreotype Portraits and Views, 1838-1864From the Library of Congress American Memory project, this collection includes more than 700 photographs taken between 1839 and 1864, including portraits and architectural photographs. The collection can be searched by keyword or browsed by subject.
- Fine Arts Museums of San FranciscoThe Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco includes the collection of the de Young in Golden Gate Park and the Legion of Honor in Lincoln. The website provides an ImageBase which is fully searchable by keyword; it contains 82,000 images from the collections of the two museums.
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Collections OnlineDirect access to nearly 70.000 works of art from around the world
- World Images (California State University)The WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
- Galaxy of Images - Smithsonian Institution Image CollectionsThe images available on the Smithsonian Institution Libraries site represent a broad cross-section of the Libraries' collections. Additional images and collections are added regularly.
- Clara Database of Women Artists (NMWA)The National Museum of Women in the Arts is the only museum in the world dedicated exclusively to recognizing the contributions of women artists.
- Life photo Archive hosted by GoogleSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...


Loading...
